Price Leads NHL Awards Nominations

Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price is the only NHL player with the opportunity to bring home three trophies at this year’s annual awards.

After a remarkable season in which Price broke the Canadiens’ regular season win record, Price has been nominated for the Hart Trophy as the league’s most valuable player, the Vezina for the league’s outstanding goaltender and the Ted Lindsay award for the most outstanding player as voted on by the members of the NHL Players’ Association.

The awards will be held at a ceremony at the MGM Grand Hotel in Las Vegas on Wednesday night.

Montreal Canadiens Tickets

While Price may be a favourite to win all three awards he has some hefty competition.

Price led all three goaltending categories at season’s end with 44 wins, a Canadiens record, a 1.96 goals-against average and .933 save-percentage, making him the favourite for the Vezina.  His competition includes two goaltenders who resurrected their careers in 2014-2015 in the Minnesota Wild’s Devan Dubnyk and Pekke Rinne of the Nashville Predators.

Dubnyk was bounced around this season and didn’t find a starting job until he landed with the Wild. He had a 27-9-2 record and led the Wild into the playoffs.  After an injury-riddled 2013-2014 campaign, Rinne returned with 41 wins, 2nd only to Price.

Without Price, many believe the Canadiens would not have spent the season atop the Eastern Conference standings.  He is the first Montreal Canadien to be nominated for the Hart Trophy since goaltender José Theodore won it in 2002.

“I’m obviously flattered and honored to be nominated,” Price said of the Hart nomination. “There isn’t individual successes without my team playing well in front of me.”

He will be competing against Washington Capitals sniper Alexander Ovechkin and New York Islanders captain John Tavares, both equally responsible for their team’s success.

At the end of the season, Price won the William M. Jennings Trophy for allowing the fewest goals in the NHL as a starting goalie, along with Corey Crawford of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Montreal Canadiens Tickets

Other Hab nominees include defenseman P.K. Subban who is nominated for his second James Norris Trophy as the league’s most outstanding defenseman and General Manager Marc Bergevin, nominated for his second GM of the year award. In 2013-2014 he finished 2nd.

Here is the full list of nominees prior to Wednesday’s broadcast:

Hart Memorial Trophy (as league MVP)

Alex Ovechkin, Carey Price, John Tavares

James Norris Memorial Trophy (as best defenseman)

Drew Doughty, Erik Karlsson, P.K. Subban

Vezina Trophy (as best goaltender)

Devan Dubnyk, Carey Price, Pekka Rinne

Calder Memorial Trophy (as best rookie)

Aaron Ekblad, Johnny Gaudreau, Mark Stone

Frank J. Selke Trophy (as best defensive forward)

Patrice Bergeron, Anze Kopitar, Jonathan Toews

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (for sportsmanship and ability)

Pavel Datsyuk, Jiri Hudler, Anze Kopitar

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (for perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Devan Dubnyk, Andrew Hammond, Kris Letang

NHL Foundation Player Award (for community service)

Brent Burns, Mark Giordano, Henrik Lundqvist

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone

Ryan Getzlaf, Andrew Ladd, Jonathan Toews

Ted Lindsay Award (outstanding player as voted on by players)

Jamie Benn, Alex Ovechkin, Carey Price

Jack Adams Award (for best head coach)

Bob Hartley, Peter Laviolette, Alain Vigneault

GM of the Year Award

Marc Bergevin, Bob Murray, Ray Shero

Get the best deals on NHL tickets here for the 2015-2016 season here.